Kristiina Ehin

Kristiina Ehin was born in Rapla, Estonia in 1977. She received an M.A. in Comparative and Estonian Folklore from Tartu University in 2004. She has published five volumes of poetry in her native Estonia and has won a number of prizes there, including Estonia’s most prestigious poetry prize for her fourth volume, written during a year spent as a nature reserve warden on an uninhabited island off Estonia’s north coast. She has also published two books of short stories and has written a play as well. 

The Drums of Silence (Oleander Press, 2007), a volume of her selected poems in English translation, was awarded the Poetry Society Corneliu M. Popescu Prize for European Poetry in Translation in 2007. Her other books in English translation are Põletades pimedust – Burning the Darkness – An Dorchadas á Dhó (trilingual Estonian-English-Irish selected poems, Coiscéim, 2009), A Priceless Nest (short stories, Oleander Press, 2009), Päevaseiskaja – South-Estonian Fairy Tales (Huma, 2009), Noorkuuhommik – New Moon Morning (selected poems, Huma, 2007) and The Scent of Your Shadow (Arc, 2010) which was named the Poetry Book Society Recommended Translation. 

Kristiina is often invited to take part in international arts and literary festivals and her work, poetry and prose, appears regularly in English translation in leading Irish and British literary journals. Her work has been translated into thirteen languages.

MPT will publish a pamphlet of a new sequence of poems by Kristiina Ehin, translated by Ilmar Lehtpere in April 2011, as part of our MPT Poets Series.